District History

District Three currently comprises the states of Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina, but when Altrusa International instituted the system of districts in 1930, these states were part of District Two. That district, one of 10 formed at the time, also included Maryland (or Delaware, depending upon the source of information), Virginia, West Virginia, and the District of Columbia. In 1953, the districts were realigned, and District Three comprised the current states and Virginia. Seventeen years later, in 1970, the districts were once again realigned, and District Three took on its current composition.

Over the years, the leaders in District Three have provided leadership in Altrusa International at many levels. Four International Presidents have come from District Three: Ernestine Milner of Greensboro, NC; Lucile Spillers Alexander of Jacksonville, FL; Barbara Ann Hughes of Raleigh, NC; Donna Johnson of Gainsville, FL. Eva Ulrich of Columbus, GA and Cindy Schad of Ocala, FL have served as International Treasurer. Current Governor Colleen Duris continues her service as Parliamentarian for the International board. Past International President Donna Johnson is currently serving as the International Treasurer. Countless leaders from District Three served as International Program Coordinator and as chairmen of the Altrusa Information, ASTRA, Community Service, Bylaws, Resolutions and Recommendations (BRR), Extension, International Relations, Literacy, Membership, Public Relations, and Vocational Services committees. These committees existed until 1997, when the International Board presented and the membership accepted the new designations of: Communications, Leadership Development and Training, Membership Development, and Service Program Development. The committees for ASTRA, BRR, Finances, and Nominating carried through this transition.   One District Three member served on a special committee to research the feasibility of relocating the International Office and another served on the special committee to reorganize the structure of the International Board. Leaders from District Three continue to contribute at the International level.

Excerpted from “District Three: The Short Story”. A copy of the history (updated in 2014) is available for download as a PDF document.

Download a list of past Governors serving District Three, available as a Word document or PDF format.

Download a history of District Three Conferences, available as an Excel document or PDF format.

Past District Three Governor Alderfer and International Treasurer Donna Johnson
Donate Now
Your help makes a real difference
Get Involved
Improves lives in your community
Altrusa In Action
Affecting communities like yours
Copyright (c) 2018 Altrusa International, Inc. All rights reserved.
One North LaSalle St., Suite 1955, Chicago, IL 60602 • 1-312-427-4410 • altrusa@altrusa.org